"We immeadiately started calling him Bruiser"

This speedy laborer takes the prize so far on sheer SIZE! Read on – and way to go Lisa!

Well, Friday May 14th it was. My water broke around 4:00 am Friday morning and I started contractions pretty much right away. Turns out I fell into the “speedster” category. The contractions were three minutes apart the entire labor. Talk about no rest!  Andrew and I kept thinking that they should slow down and were trying not to be alarmists with the doula and midwife but after three continuous hours of three minute intervals with contractions lasting about 50 secs the team decided they needed to get here. They arrived around 9:30 am, I started pushing about 12:30 pm and Murray was born at 2:40 pm. So roughly 8 hours of labor and 2 hours of pushing.

I think the pushing stage was the hardest for me. I never hit transition and I never felt like I couldn’t do it but that pushing stage really made me dig down deep within to find the strength. I couldn’t figure out how I could work so hard but feel no progress but I knew to get that baby out I had to keep going.  I read about how women really love the pushing stage b/c they actively felt like something was happening. That just wasn’t the case for me. I really needed my midwife’s coaching/education and my husband’s strength during that time.

The biggest shock was when the final push came and he was put on my stomach. He was huge!! 9lbs 12 ounces :). No one expected that surprise!

It was an amazing surreal experience. Still is. I definitely received some war wounds and I am so thankful to have had the birth team that I had. Cara is phenomenal.

Thank you for your help and guidance.
It was funny though because the labor was so intense from the beginning all the imagery work that we did in class had to go out the window. Thank god my husband has a sense of humor and did not take any of my “not working!” or my hand just covering his mouth when he was trying to coach personally. He would just giggle when i did that and that was the best gift (besides holding me in a crouching position for essentially 2 hours!).

All the best,
Lisa

